Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

9 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Hi Patricia in Japan. I read you comments on the ADR blog. I make animal fat soap.

    Kathy

    • patriciaormsby Says:

      Why thank you, Kathy! As you can see, I haven’t done anything with this blog. I tried to upload a photo, but it didn’t seem to go.

      • Kathy Says:

        Here’s the recipe:

        907 g lard (pig)
        1814 g tallow (beef/sheep/goat)
        1034 g water
        340 g sodium hydroxide (lye)

        Makes 9 lbs. of soap. Mold size: 20″ X 14″ X 2″ You easily have the recipe and use a smaller mold. Approximately 24 hrs. to set up enough to cut.

        Gives a hard but gentle soap. You can’t get sodium hydroxide from wood ashes but instead it is made from seaweed ashes and gives a hard soap. The lye from wood ashes is mostly potassium hydroxide and it gives a soft soap so is used for liquid soaps. The pioneers with their lye made from ash did have a problem with soft soap.

        Let me know if you need directions on making the soap. Lots of info on that but not much on using pure animal fats and no oils.

        Hope this is what you are looking for!

        Kathy

  3. patriciaormsby Says:

    The information about seaweed ash versus hardwood ash is new to me and very useful. Getting the lye is going to be the bottleneck for me, but I’ll go forward with this and print out the recipe for reference.

    Pat

  4. inohuri Says:

    Cinnamon is also toxic. The bad coumarin extracts into oil if I recall correctly. Water extract is safe. Wish I had kept a link.

    For a high certainty experiment with silicon try Biosil. It is essentially a pharmaceutical. The early version tasted bad with preservatives but it did work.

    My second choice for silicon is Oat Straw. When I first started Oat Straw baths I could only tolerate a decocted a hand full. I eventually went to a feed store and bought a bale. I used maybe 1/4th of it. A large decocted pot was no longer enough.

    Could not find anything in Kampo.
    Other sources had side effects or toxicity or cost. Horsetail is not suitable for long term use. It contains nicotine and an anti enzyme for a vitamin function etc.
    Dulse and seaweed have silicon but they are limited by iodine, and sometimes arsenic.

    • patriciaormsby Says:

      Thank you, Inohuri! It’s good to see you here. I ought to put up a few posts.

      I am aware of cinnamon toxicity. If I take too much of it internally for too long, I start showing liver problems. What I am doing is putting on my face and neck and other public bits of me only about as much as would go into the average cinnamon bun (which I don’ eat), and just once a week, or as soon as I remember it. But I could try a water-based paste. Turmeric is liver-protective, but needs oil. It may be the reason for the combination.
      It may be the Japanese diet that provides then enough silica. Silica’s never talked about here. Their diet is full of vegetables, including lots of seaweed. The women age well here, and part of it is they keep out of the sun. But osteoporosis is prominent, and was my biggest concern going into menopause. I finally scheduled an appointment to get my bone density tested. My backbone’s stronger than the average 20-year-old’s. Hips a little less, but way above what is normal for my age.
      The main thing I was considering make up for was my eyes. The reason was I appeared on TV recently (a lot different from looking in a mirror), and they focused up close on my non-Japanese eyes with my sparse eyelashes. (Decades of barely controlled trichotillomania.) That embarrassed me. But I have yet to hear comments to this effect from anyone, so it is not a pressing issue.

  5. inohuri Says:

    This seems to be the only group that is dedicated to silicon.

    I read the Birchall papers about 1994. Funded by the evil Ciba as I recall.

    Bioinorganic Chemistry of Aluminium & Silicon – Keele University

    http://www.keele.ac.uk/aluminium/

    Chris Exley is their leader. Several videos on youtube pushing silicon – or perhaps I should say mineral water. He thinks the stuff I use should be useless. Mineral water contains other minerals such as zinc which assists my autoimmunities. (Adaptogens such as ashwagandha and reishi crash my immune system.)

    I have no idea how old he is but check out his skin. Fiji Water is the choice for him.

    https://www.keele.ac.uk/aluminium/groupmembers/chrisexley/

    • patriciaormsby Says:

      I’ll have to look into the silica content of our local water. People come from all over to collect the water here because it contains minerals that are hard to obtain, such as vanadium. Japanese love hot springs and bathe in them frequently. We go about once a week.

Leave a Reply

